Ocean Visions Governance

Leadership Team

The Leadership Team is an advisory body assembled to activate and mobilize the Ocean Visions Network. The team sets the overall strategic vision for the Network, establishes priorities, reviews progress and products, and facilitates collaboration and communication with external parties.

67251b_0086ee3955cf4b67882a05e3751c37f1_mv2 (Custom)

Brad Ack

Chief Executive Officer at Ocean Visions

clark alexander

Clark Alexander

Director of the University of Georgia’s Skidaway Institute of Oceanography

Jim Barry

Jim Barry

Senior Scientist and Chair of the Research Division at the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI)

Annalisa Bracco (1)

Annalisa Bracco

Associate Chair for Research and Professor of Oceanography and Climate in the School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at Georgia Tech

Jennifer Dianto Kemmerly

Jennifer Dianto Kemmerly

Vice President of Global Oceans at Monterey Bay Aquarium

67251b_84fc7867b3d047bd883ac404b5e9ddc8_mv2 (1) (Custom)

Emanuele Di Lorenzo

Chairman & Co-Founder of Ocean Visions and Professor at Brown University

Rob Dunbar

Rob Dunbar

Professor at Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability

67251b_e5bfd45bc262401aa5a87b495f9390b4_mv2 (Custom)

Daniela V. Fernandez

Founder and CEO of Sustainable Ocean Alliance

Jack Gilbert

Jack Gilbert

Professor and Associate Vice Chancellor for Marine Science at UC San Diego

67251b_9582eccd1eb14dfc8e8c897bb79893e1_mv2-1 (Custom)

Paul Holthus

Founding President and CEO of the World Ocean Council

Tod Hynes

Tod Hynes

Sr. Advisor for Climate & Energy, Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship & Sr. Lecturer, MIT Sloan School of Management


Debora Iglesias-Rodriguez

Professor of Biological Oceanography and chair of the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology at UCSB

Cliff McBride/staff

Gary Mitchum

Professor of Physical Oceanography and the Associate Dean in the College of Marine Science at the University of South Florida

Kate Moran 2012-02 a copy 4

Kate Moran

President & CEO, Ocean Networks Canada

67251b_e547f514d58e403ea1a970e35eec2bf5_mv2 (Custom)

Rick Murray

Deputy Director and Vice President for Research at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Christopher Pearce

Christopher Pearce

Principal Marine Geoscientist, National Oceanography Centre

67251b_c59e97c366bc4d22856eb64eeb4b151c_mv2 (Custom)

Millicent Pitts

Chief Executive Officer and Director, The Ocean Exchange

Akash Rastogi

Akash Rastogi

Chief Strategist, Ocean Frontier Institute

Shapshot 232

Mark Shimamoto

Director, Global Outreach Programs, American Geophysical Union


Rohit Shukla

Founder and CEO, Larta

Eric Siegel - headshot

Eric Siegel

Chief Innovation Officer, Ocean Frontier Institute & Executive in Residence, Creative Destruction Lab – Oceans


Dawn Wright

Chief Scientist of the Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)

Board of Directors

Paul Bunje (1)

Paul Bunje

Co-Founder and President of Conservation XLabs


Emanuele Di Lorenzo

Chairman & Co-Founder of Ocean Visions and Professor at Brown University


Nancy Knowlton

Sant Chair in Marine Science Emerita, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

67251b_e96c9124e3b94d088bacb02ae59477d2_mv2 (Custom)-min

Fiorenza Micheli

Co-Director of Stanford’s Center for Ocean Solutions and of Hopkins Marine Station, and the David and Lucile Packard Professor of Marine Science at Stanford University

Julie Pullen

Julie Pullen

Partner and Chief Scientist at Propeller Ventures and Adjunct Research Scientist at Columbia Climate School